mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Why I am Late for Work – Excuse # 76 September 30, 2012

It was already “one of those” mornings.  I was running behind schedule and nothing seemed to be going right.  I still needed to pack lunches, feed the kids breakfast, get them both ready, and I hoped to have time to fix my hair and put make-up on for the day…

Kendra ran into my room with a terrible look on her face.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

“I don’t want to tell you because I’m afraid you’ll be mad,” she answered with a trembling bottom lip.

“No, I won’t,” I said, even though I knew there was a distinct possibility that whatever she was going to say could very easily make me mad.  I started running through possible scenarios in my head.

“My hamster DIED!” she wailed and immediately started bawling.  “I.  went.  in.  to.  feed.  her.  and,” she explained in between dramatic sobs, “she was DEAD!”

RIP little guy

“Oh, honey, I’m so sorry.”  I pulled her into my arms and tried to comfort her as she cried.

Then, Max walked in.  He looked at his crying sister then at me then back at her.  He shrugged his shoulders and said, “You should have been more responsible.”  I glared at him as fresh howls came out of Kendra.

“Maxwell Trenton!  Get out of here!” I yelled.

“It’s all my fault,” Kendra kept crying.

Arg.

I tried to comfort her and still get things done since we did have school and work to try to get to on time.  I sent her to brush her teeth.

I rushed around the house like a wild woman, throwing lunches together and banging things around.  I could hear Max singing in the back of the house, but it didn’t register exactly what song he had chosen for the morning.

Then, when I heard Kendra start yelling, I realized what that little rascal was singing at the top of his lungs.  That’s right.  None other than “Another One Bites the Dust.”

How fitting.

If that’s not a reason to be late for work, I don’t know what is.

it was fun for a while…

 

7 Responses to “Why I am Late for Work – Excuse # 76”

  1. sherbear64 Says:

    And another down and another one down and another bites the dust! 😉

  2. Sandy Hankins Says:

    oh man. so sad… but so funny!

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    Wonder what new pet she’ll choose next?

  4. Poor thing. Hamsters are so cute and cuddly.

  5. Iv had ;13 hamsters at one point as we used to take in ones ppl could not pay to take back to uk from Germany. I recal shadow my gray long haired one passing away my sister said oh well one less to feed at least then yelled mum can I have bin bag to deal with this. I had shadow from day he was bron as another one gave birth to him. He lived for 5 years. Hope kendra is ok and max is funny

  6. Love this. We have laid so many beloved pets to rest and they always plan their belly up times when it’s least convenient. I’d almost swear it’s payback for the times we forgot to feed them on our hurried way out the door!


What do you think?

