mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Max’s thoughts on week 1 September 4, 2012

Filed under: children,family,humor,Max,parenting — mandyholbert @ 7:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The first week of kindergarten has been nothing short of an emotional roller coaster for Maxwell.  One minute, he is thrilled about school and loves everything about it.  The next minute, he is begging me to call his teacher to tell her that he won’t be coming in any more.  If he weren’t so stressed about it, it would be kind of funny.

Well, I guess even through his anxiety, there are some funny moments.

Like this conversation:

Max – I don’t like the look of my classroom.

Me – Why?

Max – It’s too babyish.

Me – What’s babyish about it?

Max – There’s too much kindergarteny stuff everywhere.  Like baby monkeys and baby hippos on the wall.  Baby stuff.

See what I mean?

And then there’s this one:

Me – Do you talk much in school?

Max – No.

Me – Why not?

Max – I’m not the funniest kid there.  I’m only the tenth funniest boy in my class.

Me – Tenth funniest?

Max – Yeah.  There’s the class clown.  He’s really funny.  Then there’s the second class clown.  He’s almost as funny.  I’m tenth.

I’m not really sure how he comes up with this stuff.

I’m sure he’ll be fine.  It’s a big adjustment for him, but every day gets a little bit easier for him.

What I wouldn’t give to be able to peek in and see him interact with his teachers and friends!

 

5 Responses to “Max’s thoughts on week 1”

  1. sherbear64 Says:

    10th funniest boy indeed!

  2. My younger son starts this week. I hope it goes well for him. Funny that he has found himself to be the 10th funniest.

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    Tenth funniest? How funny is that? That probably puts him somewhere in the middle of the pack.

  4. […] Max’s thoughts on week 1 (mandyholbert.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this.   Leave a Comment […]


What do you think?

