mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

A Driving Defeat July 29, 2012

We were camping last week at Lakewood Camping Resort near Myrtle Beach, SC.  It was a much-needed getaway, and we had a great time…with a few exceptions.

On the last full day we were there, the guys decided to charter a boat to go fishing on the ocean, so us girls agreed to take the kids to Ripley’s Aquarium.  I drove Ronnie’s truck, which is quite a big larger than the Honda Pilot I drive.  Anyway, I backed out of our campsite and then looked over my shoulder only to see that I had missed a tree by a fraction of an inch.  It was so close that it looked impossible that I could have missed hitting it.  We laughed about it, I made a joke about the truck being too big for me, and we headed to the aquarium.

If you’ve been to Broadway at the Beach, you know how crowded it is, and I was a little concerned about parking the truck.  I was psyched when I found a parking place on the end, and just to be sure I’d be able to get back out, I pulled in and jumped the curb so the driver’s side of the truck was in the parking slot and the passenger’s side was up on the grass.  I’ve seen Ronnie do it a thousand times.  A mountain parking job.

The aquarium was great, and when it was time to leave, I was so confident in my parking job that I backed right out, enthusiastically even.  Then I heard a big smack.  I stopped the truck right away, realizing that I had managed to hit a tree with Ronnie’s side-view mirror.  I jumped out, gathered up the parts of the truck that were scattered around, made an ugly face at the woman who ran over and watched me clean up while she was babbling on in a language I couldn’t understand, and made the phone call to tell Ronnie before anyone else could.

not too bad…

He handled the news very well, as I knew he would, but it was pretty embarrassing to have to ride in that truck for the rest of the trip with the mirror taped back on with electrical tape.  Oh, well!

at least the mirror itself didn’t break, so I should avoid seven years of bad luck…

I don’t think I’ll be driving the truck for a while…

I don’t always mess up, though…remember this one?  Driving Victory

 

4 Responses to “A Driving Defeat”

  1. sherbear64 Says:

    Remember the time I ran over a small post, barely leaving a dent, and when dad got home you girls ran outside and told him that I ran into a tree?! Kudos to Ronnie for handling your mishap so well! 🙂

  2. I didn’t realize we were neighbors 🙂
    We live in Charleston, and have been to Broadway and Ripley’s many times…
    Thomas

    • mandyholbert Says:

      We were actually there on vacation. I’m a NC girl now, though I grew up in Sumter and Georgetown.

      • Nice…I’ve driven through Georgetown a hundred time. Surprising you didn’t come to Charleston. We love it here, particular the ocean and beach. In a year or two, we have plans to move to Folly, buy a year round fishing pass, and I can write on the deck with the sound of the ocean.


What do you think?

