mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Why we will always be okay June 5, 2012

Sometimes it’s not really worth talking about a bad day.  Especially when both Ronnie and I have had one.

Max is spending the night at Grandmom’s tonight.  Kendra went to bed early.  Ronnie got home really late.  When we both finally got to sit down tonight, we both started to tell each other about our days.  But we decided there just wasn’t a point.  Some days are going to be hard.  We only get a little bit of time together tonight, so we spent it relieving stress instead of dwelling on it.

I asked Ronnie to go outside and catch lightning bugs with me.  I grabbed a jar, and he opened his truck doors and turned on “Wagon Wheel” by Old Crow Medicine Show, one of our favorite songs.  We ran around the yard together, catching lightning bugs and singing and dancing.

When we had the jar full, we did something I’ve been dying to try with the kids – we put the lightning bugs in Max’s frog habitat in his room.  I always wondered if a frog would glow if it ate a lightning bug, and you know what?  They do!  Ronnie and I laughed and laughed as we watched those frogs gorge themselves on bugs and then become blinking frog lanterns as the bugs lit up inside their stomachs.

I can’t wait to do this with the kids this weekend.  They are going to love it!

And Ronnie and I feel much better.  Maybe tomorrow will be better.  Maybe not.  But we’re going to be okay.

cutting our anniversary cake

 

7 Responses to “Why we will always be okay”

  1. sherbear64 Says:

    PRICELESS!!! And I hope you both have better days tomorrow.

  2. betsyk1 Says:

    That is super cool! LOVE it!

    • mandyholbert Says:

      I’m glad you think so. I’m sure not everyone does. Maybe some people will think this is corny, but you know what – we’re happy! Thanks so much for being so supportive of my blog. I can always count on you to read. Thanks!!

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    Oh, this is so fun! I’m glad you didn’t have to relive your stressful days and that you did something so kid-ish instead. I wish we had lightning bugs here. Seeing one is on my bucket list–or should I say that on my newly-revised bucket list, seeing a FROG eat one is at the top of my list of things to do before I die.

  4. Josh Toole Says:

    Don’t tell Caspian that lightning bugs are somebody’s dinner. We now have a “pet” lightning bug in our house that has been dubbed “Chocolate Milk.” He even picked a flower for it when we went running at the track a couple of days ago.

  5. […]  Be silly.  I wrote a post a few weeks ago called Why We Will Always be Okay one evening after Ronnie and I had both had particularly bad days.  Instead of talking through […]


What do you think?

