mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Tooth Fairy Transactions (there will be a $35 fee for returned checks) April 24, 2012

Filed under: children,family,humor,Kendra,parenting — mandyholbert @ 8:40 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Kendra’s stall tactics at bedtime vary, and she has many ideas in her stalling-sleep arsenal that she implements when she’s just not feeling like turning in for the night.  Last night was a new one.

I was sitting on the couch after tucking the kids in bed, finally relaxing after a long day.  She came out of her bedroom…”Mommy, my tooth is really loose.  I think it’s ready to come out.”

I sighed and agreed to check it.  It was not ready.  I repeat: not ready.  I told her to keep wiggling it for a few days and it would come out when it was ready.

About twenty minutes later, I was nestled into my spot on the couch, comfortably enthralled in whatever mind-numbing program I was half-watching.  Out she came again.

“Look, Mommy!”  She was holding her tooth and bleeding from the new vacancy in her mouth.

Before I could answer her, Ronnie congratulated her on pulling her own tooth (thirty minutes after bedtime – I saw right through this little plan).  He took the tooth and she went to the kitchen to rinse her mouth and have a drink of water (slowly, of course).

They talked for a while about how she got the tooth out, as Ronnie was very impressed by the fact that she did it herself.

Finally, after more and more minutes being added to the past-bedtime clock, I piped up and demanded she go back to bed.

“Mommy,” she said so sweetly, “can I put my tooth under my pillow for the Tooth Fairy?”

Crap, that tooth wasn’t supposed to come out for days.  I didn’t have any cash to put under her pillow.   Pitiful, I know.  Not even a measly dollar.

“No,” I answered.

“Why not?” she asked.

“Because the Tooth Fairy didn’t plan on your losing a tooth tonight, and the Tooth Fairy is broke.”

She grinned.  “Will the Tooth Fairy have money tomorrow night?”

I promised.

And, you know what?  Now it is tomorrow night, and I forgot.  That tooth is in a jewelry box under her pillow just waiting to be snatched away and replaced with cash, and once again, I have none.

Do you think the Tooth Fairy could write a check?  How much is a tooth going for these days anyway?

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Tooth Fairy Transactions (there will be a $35 fee for returned checks)”

  1. lorajbanks Says:

    I think the price for that tooth should be a little more than most, just for the effort involved. So sneaky! And obviously brilliant.

  2. sherbear64 Says:

    Get a pen and start writing that check! 🙂

  3. Lynda Maddock Says:

    That is one very smart little cookie,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Grandma Lyn is very impressed!!!!

  4. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    I’m not the tooth fairy, but when my grandsons lose a tooth, they negotiate for me for what it’s worth.


What do you think?

