mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Driving Victory April 14, 2012

Filed under: Arguments,family,humor,parenting — mandyholbert @ 7:55 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not the world’s best driver; I’ll readily admit that.  I usually consider the yellow lines more of a suggestion than a rule.  The speed limit is more advice than the law.  I’m more of a creative kind of driver.

My husband, on the other hand, is a total show-off.  He can drive down a curvy hill in the dark at full speed all while in reverse.  He can squeeze through the tightest spots that make me cringe because I think we’re sure to lose a side-view mirror.  Ronnie is the complete opposite of me – he is a very talented driver.

And it drives me crazy.

When we went to eat the other night at our favorite Mexican restaurant, there were no available parking slots.  There was, however, a space between the dumpster and another car that someone could feasibly park in if they were willing to back in the very tight spot.

I was driving.  Ronnie told me to park there, so I did what I always do.  I told him to steer and I closed my eyes and operated the pedals.  Once we were through the hairy part, I took the wheel back and finished backing in.  There was a concrete retaining wall back there.

Ronnie sometimes overreacts when I’m driving.  I don’t understand why.  Anyways, as I was finishing backing in, he all of a sudden looks over at me with bugged out eyes and snapped, “There’s a wall back there!  Stop!”

So, I naturally went a little farther and then stopped.

We got out, and here’s what we saw:

He swore I hit the wall.  I was sure I didn’t.  Well, actually, I was pretty sure I probably did, but I didn’t want to admit that I should have stopped when he told me to with his goofy bugged out eyes.  He could have told me more politely.  Like, “Dear, please stop reversing as there is a wall back there that I wouldn’t want to inconvenience you in any way.”  That would have been much nicer.

We had to get on our hands and knees to determine whether I hit it.  And HA! I didn’t hit it!

See that tiny gap?  That was talent if I ever saw it!  It was enough room for me to slide a piece of paper between my car and the wall, which I happily did as my symbol of victory.

Don’t tell my husband, but I honestly had absolutely no idea that the wall was even back there.  I don’t know how in the world I didn’t hit it, but the point is that I didn’t!  As far as I’m concerned, I couldn’t have maneuvered more precisely if I tried!

Who’s the good driver now?!

 

21 Responses to “Driving Victory”

  1. Caroline Says:

    “Dear, please stop reversing as there is a wall back there that I wouldn’t want to inconvenience you in any way.”

    Haha. Love that comment.

  2. sherbear64 Says:

    Might have to side with Ronnie on this one seeing as there were a couple of incidents with you driving that I thought was going to cost me my life. 😉

  3. betsyk1 Says:

    Truly awesome, and I love your writing style.

  4. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    Of course you had to go a little farther! hahahahahaha!

  5. Alex Autin Says:

    What is it about men and cars which causes them to over-react? This is a prefectly good example of very fine car parking skill…

  6. Laughing! You and your hubby must be related to me and my hubby. I can just picture us on the ground jockeying for the best position to prove we are right! I love the pic of your husband on the ground taking a pic. Thanks for the laugh!

    • mandyholbert Says:

      He actually pushed the back end of my car down which made it touch the wall, but that was clearly cheating, so I didn’t let him take the picture that way. I’m glad to hear you guys would also get on your hands and knees in a crowded parking lot just to settle a disagreement. At that moment, what could possibly be more important? Surely not what strangers may think of you!

  7. Dianna Says:

    Wow, THAT was close! Good job, even if it was an “accident”. Thanks for visiting!

  8. Victoria Says:

    Funny! Loved it! That was good, bad AND funny!

  9. Thanks Mandy for Stopping by and the like! By the way, awesome post. Funny!

  10. […] don’t always mess up, though…remember this one?  Driving Victory Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this.   Leave a […]


What do you think?

