mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Girl Time Mornings April 4, 2012

Filed under: children,family,Kendra,parenting — mandyholbert @ 6:35 am
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s Wednesday!  This is my favorite day of the work week.  Today is my special “girl time” with Kendra before school.

We’ve been doing this since she started school.  It couldn’t happen without my mother-in-law so sweetly inviting Max to spend every Tuesday night at her house.  That’s Max’s special time with his Grandmom and Grandad.  That leaves just Kendra and me on Wednesday mornings.

It’s nothing extravagant.  We usually just go to Starbucks and she eats a donut or a blueberry muffin and sips on chocolate milk or a raspberry latte if she’s feeling really grown up.  It’s the time together that is so special.

We talk about whatever is on her mind – her day at school, her friends, her dreams (I’m not being corny here – I mean her literal dreams – I think the last one was a nightmare about getting in trouble at school), her worries, or the things that aggravate her.  We have talked about why people speak different languages, why some people are mean to others, and why she should try new foods in the cafeteria.

I cherish this time with my little girl.  She is an amazing person.  I truly wish I were more like her.

I’d better go!  It’s time for me to go wake her up so we’re not late for school.  We are going to Starbucks on the way, after all.

It’s Wednesday!

 

9 Responses to “Girl Time Mornings”

  1. What a great time to bond.

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    what a beautiful tradition for both you and gram

    • mandyholbert Says:

      That’s very true – the time Max has with his grandparents every Tuesday night is just as special as my time with Kendra. It’s so important to have alone time with the kids to give them undivided attention. You learn so much from them that way.

  3. betsyk1 Says:

    That’s a fabulous idea. It’s totally something she’s going to one day look back on fondly and maybe continue the tradition with a daughter of her own.

  4. unfinishedbizness Says:

    First of all, she’s beautiful 🙂 Second of all, one-on-one time with little girls is ALWAYS a sweet occasion!! They really are wonderful creatures, these little people we made!

    • mandyholbert Says:

      Thanks – I happen to think she’s adorable, but I’m understandably biased. And, you’re right, little girls are wonderful. If only they could stay little!


What do you think?

