mandyholbert

A glimpse into our family – the good, the bad, and, of course, the funny

Thursday Reflections March 29, 2012

Filed under: family,food — mandyholbert @ 9:07 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My middle sister who lives next door to me and owns a dog named Zeke – I’ll call her Vickie to maintain her anonymity – told me this was going to be a hard week *sigh* *mean face* *sigh* (she was kind of mad at me).  She was mad because we decided to move the dogs’ invisible fence Monday night, which she thought meant she would spend the whole week training Zeke on the new boundary.

Well, it’s Thursday, and it’s been a pretty darn good week.  The dogs are trained.  That allowed me to move the rabbits out to their new home in the garden without fear of the dogs eating them.  That in turn allowed me to get our new six baby chickens out of my kitchen and into the garage.  And I did all of this without our cat killing anyone involved!

I discovered a nest full of eggs in the bird house in the garden.  The blueberry bushes and grape vines have new growth.  The hostas have popped up and filled out.  The honeysuckle is blooming.  And I don’t have chickens in my kitchen.

It’s spring, and I can’t wait to get out there and get my hands dirty.  To grow vegetables and prune the flowers.  This week has me so looking forward to the next few months.  Months that will be spent outside with my family and our little farm we seem to have started.

I’m sure there’ll be stories about these chickens.  They pretty much freak me out.  But, until then, I’ll enjoy watching them like I enjoy watching our two little bunnies hop around.  Yep, it’s been a pretty good week.

 

4 Responses to “Thursday Reflections”

  1. sherbear64 Says:

    You are blessed!

  2. betsyk1 Says:

    Gotta say, that all sounds really wonderful. I’ve contemplated getting chickens. And now I definitely think I need a blueberry bush. We’ve got the grape vines covered. 🙂

  3. Caddo Veil Says:

    Okay, I SO can’t help myself, and if I look really stupid, so be it–I am not a country gal, okay. I watched an old western show yesterday, and the kid said you can squeeze a chicken to get the egg out. I don’t know if he meant “more quickly”, or what–but is it true? You can squeeze a chicken to get the egg to come out??? (I’ll understand if you now decided you made a mistake in “following” my blog… ) God bless you.

    • mandyholbert Says:

      The funny thing is that I have absolutely no idea! We’ve never had chickens. This is a totally new (learning) experience for us. That’s why I’m sure there will be stories along the way. We are sure to mess things up. How about I’ll try it one day and let you know!


What do you think?

